The Geek Stereotype and Me

I am a geek. Well, I label myself a geek, however I don’t personally think I fit into that stereotype. I don’t try to, at least. I call myself a geek because it’s the best label I have for myself. If people put me in that category, fine, great. I don’t mind, in fact, I find it a compliment. It means I have a community I fit in to. I have people like me. People I have things in common with and can get along with better. Here are a few of the stereotypes of geeks:

  • Doesn’t participate in physical activities e.g. sports.
  • Interest with computers.
  • Socially awkward.
  • Similar to nerds, they have a high IQ

Most stereotypes of geeks are correct, depending on which geek you are comparing them to. For me, only 1 of them is correct. I am socially awkward. However, I don’t have a bad IQ and the only sports I enjoy are racket sports and swimming.

How do you compare to the stereotype of a geek? What stereotype do you put yourself in? Jock? Nerd? Preps? Townies? Let me know in the comment section below!

The Geek

737pmblog@gmail.com

